Job Alerts

Sign up to receive custom job alerts and to apply for jobs through the website.

Registration confirmation will be emailed to you.

Education Awards winners announced

Education Awards winners announced

The winners of the annual Thurrock Education Awards were announced at a special ceremony on Friday 29 November.

Taking place at the Civic Hall, Grays, the ceremony brought together finalists from across 11 award categories to announce the winners and celebrate the amazing talents of colleagues across schools, early year settings and colleges in Thurrock.

More than 350 guests attended the black-tie event which is fully sponsored by local businesses across the borough, DP World London Gateway and Greenergy being the two main event sponsors this year.

The announcement of the winners are as follows:

Excellence in early years education, sponsored by Cruise & Maritime Voyages – Nicola Barrett, Benyon Primary School

Newcomer of the year, sponsored by Strategy Education – Hannah Lebeze, St Clere’s School

Teaching and school support of the year, sponsored by Palmers Solicitors – Jackie Shepherd-Ashby, The Olive AP Academy

Excellence in English or science, technology, engineering or maths (STEM), sponsored by Greenergy – Year One Team, Arthyur Bugler Primary School

Opportunities in skills development, sponsored by ALM Training – Yuen-Man Yau, TCHC Group (The Consultancy Home Counties Group)

Excellence in creative arts or culture, sponsored by High House Production Park – Cross Curricular Team, William Edwards School

Mental health and well-being champion, sponsored by Moore Kingston Smith – Well-being Team, Belmont Castle Academy

Teacher of the year primary, sponsored by DP World London Gateway – Nadia Kemel, Harris Primary Academy Chafford Hundred

Teacher of the year secondary, sponsored by Port of Tilbury – Mark Harvey, Ortu Hassenbrook Academy

Education leader of the year, sponsored by HW Wilson Ltd – Laura James, Abbots Hall Primary Academy

Unsung hero, sponsored by Eternity Events – Bev Bennett, Ortu Corringham Primary School