Job Alerts

Sign up to receive custom job alerts and to apply for jobs through the website.

Registration confirmation will be emailed to you.

Thurrock Education Awards Shortlist Announced

Thurrock Education Awards Shortlist Announced


The finalists for this year’s Thurrock Education Awards have now been announced and a full list can be found below. The annual awards celebrate excellence in education, recognising the hard work of head teachers, teachers, support staff, teams, governors and trusts that have gone the extra mile. All short-listed nominees have also been entered a prize draw, to take place on the awards ceremony evening, for a free 7-day cruise to the Norwegian Fjords donated by Cruise & Maritime Voyages. The winners will be picked anonymously by the awards sponsors.

Outstanding Early Years Practitioner

  • Belinda England – Belmont Childcare
  • Emmie Hinchliffe – Childminder
  • Laura Robinson – Headstart Day & Afterschool Care
  • Tracey Lempriere – Willow Garden Day Nursery

Outstanding New Teacher of the Year

  • Charlotte Boileau – Gable Hall School
  • Tracey Rowe – Stifford Clays Primary
  • Jordan Stevens – St Clere’s School
  • Polly McCarthy – William Edwards School

Aspiring Leader of the Year

  • Amanda Bradley – Beacon Hill Academy
  • Jennifer Rose – Hathaway Academy
  • Nathan Farrell – William Edwards School
  • Jamie Stevens – Chadwell St Mary Primary

Creative Teaching and Learning

  • Bianca Brand – Kenningtons Primary
  • Kirstie Halton – Thameside Primary
  • Traci Clarke – Treetops School
  • Nina Jarman – William Edwards School

Education Support

  • Sue Webb – Purfleet Primary
  • Paul Newbury – St Clere’s School
  • Jill Wingham – Treetops School
  • Maggie Woodfield – Ormiston Park Academy

Excellence in English and/or Mathematics

  • Nella Murthen – Belmont Castle Academy
  • Kelly Voss – Horndon on the Hill
  • St Clere’s Maths Department – St Clere’s School
  • Laura Ponder – William Edwards School

The Inspiring Career Opportunity Award

  • Logistics Academy Port of Tilbury
  • Kate Merritt – Gable Hall School
  • Inspire – Thurrock Council
  • Princes Trust Team – Thurrock Council

Excellence in Science and Technologies

  • Caroline Chibanda – The Gateway Academy
  • Jason Burr – Grays Convent High School
  • Henry Dunn – William Edwards School
  • Team Science – St Clere’s School

Governing Board of the Year

  • Steve Smith – Belmont Castle Academy
  • Maureen Bentley – Giffards Primary
  • Paul Griffiths – St Clere’s Co-operative Academy Trust
  • Temi Fawehinmi – Tudor Court Primary

Teacher of the Year in Primary Education

  • Kate Poppy – Beacon Hill Academy
  • Hugh Templeton -Belmont Castle Academy
  • Alex Rutherford – Purfleet Primary
  • Hazell Bennett – Treetops School

Teacher of the Year in Secondary Education or Post 16

  • Gareth Williams – Grays Convent High School
  • Lauren Smith – St Clere’s School
  • Lucie Burrows – Grays Convent High School
  • Emma Summerhayes – Stanford & Corringham 6th Form

Headteacher of the Year in Primary Education

  • Sarah McHugh – Bonnygate Primary
  • Lorna Hamilton – Corringham Primary
  • Joanna Bray – Stanford Le Hope Primary
  • Dan George – Tilbury Pioneer Academy

Headteacher of the Year in Secondary, Special, Alternative or Post 16 Education

  • Sue Hewitt – Beacon Hill Academy
  • Barbara King – The Ockendon Academy
  • Huw Derrick – Ormiston Park Academy
  • Ashlie Hughes – St Clere’s School

This year’s awards ceremony will take place on Friday 10th November at the Civic Hall in Blackshots Lane, Grays, RM16 2JU. If you would like to take a look at what to expect, you can watch a video from last year here: